Leaving Angus Council….

Well, the end is nigh as they say, and as far as writing things here in the role of Chief Executive of Angus Council is concerned it has in fact now arrived. This will be my last posting here in that role. My official last day with the council is 31st May, but with some of my 2017 leave allocation remaining I will exit stage left a little over a week from now on the 23rd of this month.

My six years in Angus have flown by – although at times I confess it did feel as if time was moving exceeding slow, as it sometimes does. Some meetings are just meant to test us!

The council has changed a fair bit over the six years since 2011 as we made the best we could of increasingly difficult circumstances for local government and public services in general. If anyone out there thinks I have done a reasonable job as Chief Executive in the face of those pressures it is largely down to the hard work and dedication of the Angus Council team, and the credit is theirs.

I am off to pastures new – “retirement plus” as it is called these days. The plus for me will entail, all being well, a few minor roles in other people’s shows to keep me off the streets and out of trouble. More of that will feature here in June and beyond. And there will certainly be a lot more time for family, grandchildren and of course motor cycle racing with David, ITFC and cricket…. amongst other things.

Thank you for looking at these posts over the years. There will be more from me in the future, but for now goodbye and good luck!

 

6 thoughts on “Leaving Angus Council….

  1. Cannot believe it is six years since I was wishing you well up there
    I did ask before did you get to see the steam traction engine !!
    Will watch the results for the bike racing
    Enjoy what the future throws at you
    Take care and will miss your up dates
    Wendy xx North Lincolnshire Council

    1. Hi Wendy – yep – 6 years and 3 months to be precise! I did see the engine – it’s in the care of those who will treat it well – ie not the Roads Department who would have it out there rolling tar if they could I am sure!

  2. Richard, I wish you well in all your future endeavours and thank you for the encouragement and time that you have afforded me over these years. Best regards, Walter.

  3. Good luck in your retirement Richard. It has been a pleasure working with you, in Leeds, North Lincs and Angus. I wish you well for the future.
    Best wishes
    John

  4. Wishing you a long, healthy, happy retirement.

    Kind regards Flora

    *Flora Cairnie*

    *Founder and Co-ordinator of Carnoustie Canine Capers*

    *Happy Puppy Instructor*

    *For more information see* http://www.carnoustiecaninecapers.weebly.com or contact Tel: 01241 854049 (Flora) Mob: 07968798573 Webmaster cccwmaster@ gmail.com We are on Facebook

    On Fri, May 12, 2017 at 12:52 PM, Richard Stiff wrote:

    > RichardS posted: “Well, the end is nigh as they say, and as far as writing > things here in the role of Chief Executive of Angus Council is concerned it > has in fact now arrived. This will be my last posting here in that role. My > official last day with the council is 31st May” >

  5. All the very best in your “retirement plus” Richard, good to know that your skills and acumen will still be available to the wider community, bike meets and cricket dependent! I always found our contacts to be stimulating and thought-provoking Richard and I will take that with me. Cheers, Mark

Leave a Reply

