MOOCs….

th

​I did something this week I have never done before. A first. I started a MOOC.

A MOOC is a “massive open online course”. As Wikipedia says  they are  “aimed at unlimited participation and open access via the web. In addition to traditional course materials such as filmed lectures, readings, and problem sets, many MOOCs provide interactive user forums to support community interactions among students, professors, and teaching assistants . MOOCs are a recent and widely researched development in distance education which were first introduced in 2008 and emerged as a popular mode of learning in 2012″.

It’s e-learning on a global scale.

So how did I get into this commitment of 30 hours study over the next 4 weeks? I spotted an ad for the MOOC in question in the alumni newsletter of the university I did a post graduate course at about 20 years ago – Reading University Business School. So I thought I would have a look.

Reading and many other universities are delivering MOOCs in all sorts of disciplines through FutureLearn  – an arm of the Open University who are probably, I suspect, the world leader in distance learning.

Although the course I have joined is one that relates to a key business challenge at Angus Council the range of materials and programmes available through FutureLearn is both large and diverse. It’s worth a look – https://www.futurelearn.com/

And it’s free…..there is no fee.

Leave a Reply

